Hayley Williams performs onstage during the Love Rising: Let Freedom Sing (and Dance) A Celebration Of Life, Liberty And The Pursuit Of Happiness show at Bridgestone Arena on March 20, 2023 in Nashville, Tennessee. Taylor Swift performs onstage during the 36th Annual Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony at Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse on October 30, 2021 in Cleveland, Ohio. Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy performs at the Mundo Stage during the Rock in Rio Festival at Cidade do Rock on September 09, 2022 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Taylor Swift’s recently released version of Speak Now has an emo flair that surprised some fans. Swift has long been a fan of emo music. When Taylor was an aspiring 15-year-old country singer, she said emo bands Paramore and Fall Out Boy “influenced me most powerfully as a lyricist at that time.” Now, the singers of both of those bands have offered their vocals for Taylor’s “From the Vault” versions of “Castles Crumbling” and “Electric Touch.”

Taylor’s Emo History

Back in 2011, Paramore’s Hayley Williams performed “That’s What You Get” with Swift on her Speak Now World Tour. This week, Swift announced that Paramore will be opening the 2024 European leg of her Eras Tour, stating that she and Williams have been friends since they were teens in Nashville and now get to “frolic around the UK/Europe next summer.”

Fall Out Boy’s Patrick Stump offers his vocals on “Electric Touch.” He has known Swift for at least a decade when the band performed with Swift at the Victoria’s Secret show in 2013. They played “My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light Em Up)” together. In 2015, the band mentioned wanting to collaborate with her following their performance. “We did this Victoria’s Secret show with Taylor, and she sang ‘Light ‘Em Up’ with us. She is very in demand, though, isn’t she? I wouldn’t hold my breath. She was so sweet,” bassist Pete Wentz said at the time.

Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) includes a total of six new “From the Vault” tracks. The remaining new songs include “When Emma Falls In Love,” “I Can See You,” “Foolish One,” and “Timeless.” This will mark the third album released as part of Swift’s mission to re-record her first six albums following her former label Big Machine’s 2019 sale of her catalog’s master recordings. The collection includes 16 songs from the original and deluxe versions.

RELATED: Taylor Swift Reunites With Ex Taylor Lautner

Take a look below at the entire tracklist for Speak Now (Taylor’s Version):

  • 1. Mine

    In this re-recording of one of the original album’s favorites, Swift sounds like her voice is one that is reminiscing. Over a decade since Speak Now first came out, you can hear Swift’s progression as an artist and as a person.

  • Sparks Fly

    Though Swift’s tone and infliction sounds completely different in the new version, “Sparks Fly” is still the song fans know and love. She even maintains some of that country twang.

  • 3. Back To December

    This heartfelt breakup song was written about Taylor’s ex, Taylor Lautner. The two dated for a few months in 2009, but remained good friends to this day!

  • 4. Speak Now

    Somehow, Swift sounds even more innocent and in love in her re-recording of “Speak Now.” She maintains a playfulness throughout the song, especially with the little giggle before the final chorus.

  • 5. Dear John

    Regarded by Swifties as one of her best songs of all time, the new version is even better than the original. She even changes the final lyrics from “I should’ve known” to “You should’ve known,” removing the responsibility and blame from herself to her ex John Mayer who is more than ten years her senior.

  • 6. Mean

    In “Mean,” Taylor sounds like she is singing to her younger self, but from a viewpoint of overcoming being bullied.

  • 7. The Story Of Us

    As with the previous songs so far on the re-recorded album, Swift’s voice clearly has more maturity and confidence, and it is not missed with “The Story Of Us.”

  • 8. Never Grow Up

    This song is meaningful for many Swifties. She dedicated it to her godson and said, “When you’re holding onto something that’s so innocent and so perfect and has no idea what’s coming for it with the world. The world is going to throw so many things at you as we grow up.”

  • 9. Enchanted

    Swift’s conscious singing of every note in “Enchanted” is more serious yet pure at the same time in this new version.

  • 10. Better Than Revenge

    This song proves Taylor can easily produce a rock album. She changed the controversial lyrics from “she’s an actress, whoa / but she’s better known for the things that she does on the mattress, whoa.” Critics at the time called it “slut-shaming” about her ex Joe Jonas and Camilla Belle. The new version’s lyrics are now: “He was a moth to the flame / she was holding the matches.”

  • 11. Innocent

    “Innocent” reminds us to not be so hard on ourselves about our mistakes. Since she wrote this song at 18, you can see how much more Swift has matured in the new version.

  • 12. Haunted

    Her voice sounds more developed and powerful in this version, giving a completely new vibe to “Haunted.”

  • 13. Last Kiss

    You can feel Swift’s raw emotions and trembling in her voice, but from a version of herself that has moved on from the pain.

  • 14. Long Live

    This one is for the OG Swifties. The music video shows a young Taylor though the audio is from her new recording in perfect sync.

  • 15. Ours

    “Ours” is one of her sweetest, most hopeful songs. You can be sure to turn your day around with this country influenced song.

  • 16. Superman

    Taylor’s older and deeper voice fits the re-recording of “Superman” better than the original. The wistful song about young love to someone who barely knows you exist.

  • 17. Electric Touch (From the Vault)

    Giving us all the 2010s nostalgia, fans are calling for Swift to make a rock album. Her and Fall Out Boy’s Patrick Stump’s voices work so well together.

  • 18. Emma (From the Vault)

    This song is a sweet fairy tale storytelling by Swift. You can clearly imagine a little movie with the way she writes her lyrics for “Emma.”

  • 19. I Can See You (From the Vault)

    Written and directed by Swift, the video stars her ex, Taylor Lautner, and actress Joey King. They are on a mission to rescue Swift and her art.

  • 20. Castles Crumbling (From the Vault)

    This is the Taylor and Hayley collaboration fans always wanted. In return, “Castles Crumbling” blends their voices in this ethereal, haunting song.

  • 21. Foolish One (From the Vault)

    Swift does it again, writing a song about another experience that many people have lived through during a time where sending letters through the mail was still a thing.

  • 22. Timeless (From the Vault)

    This song title perfectly encapsulates most of the Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) — it’s timeless. Her storytelling is immaculate and this album highlights that.

Sign me up for the XTU Nation email newsletter!

Join XTU Nation and get the latest music and local news, exclusive presales, contests, and more straight to your inbox!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.